Southern Scotland, The definitive guide to travel and tourism in Scotland

Southern Scotland


Southern Scotland starts out from Stirlingshire down to Dumfries and Galloway across the Lothian region. Southern Scotland includes Dunbartonshire, Stirlingshire, West Lothian, Renfrewshire, Lanarkshire, Midlothian, Peeblesshire, East Lothian, Berwickshire, Roxburghshire, Selkirkshire, Dumfriesshire, Kirkcudbrightshire, Wigtownshire, Ayrshire and Bute. The regions have been to the doorstep of England for more than thousand years and mark Scotland’s border.

Within Southern Scotland you find estimated population of 1,740,700, the capital, two major cities Edinburgh and Glasgow and main evidence of Scotland’s deep past and future throughout the shires. There are many resources that you can use to help plan your stay. An Edinburgh city guide or a Glasgow city guide will help you plan your itinerary when visiting Scotland's famous cities.